Key Stage 3: Age 11-14 - what does this mean for my child?

(7 ratings)
His teachers kept saying he could do better
By now, your child has gone through Key Stages 1 & 2, but here comes Key Stage 3 (school years 7-9) and things get a bit more serious, especially as they choose GCSE subjects. So what can your child expect?

Changes in education and training in 2008 will help your child get the most out of school. We take a look at what they'll study at Key Stage 3, choices they'll need to make and the option of the new diploma.

At Key Stage 3, there are core and foundation subjects that all children will learn.

Core subjects

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science

Foundation subjects

  • Design and technology
  • Information and Communication Technology (ICT)
  • History
  • Geography
  • Modern foreign languages
  • Art and design
  • Music
  • Citizenship
  • Physical education

Schools also have to provide

  • Careers education and guidance (during Year 9)
  • Sex and Relationship Education (SRE)
  • RE

Schools teach RE and SRE by law, although parents are allowed to take their pupils out of RE lessons and non-statutory elements of SRE.

Continued below...

Your child may be able to be taught personal, social and health education (PSHE), depending on the school.

All pages in this article

  1. 1. Key Stage 3: Age 11-14 - what does this mean for my child?
  2. 2. What tests and assessments are there?
  1. 3. Why Year 9 is important

Your rating

Average rating

  • 4
(7 ratings)

Your comments

comments powered by Disqus

FREE Newsletter