Chinese horoscopes and love compatibility

Discover your Chinese horoscope and find out what your spiritual animal says about you!

Every year in the Chinese calendar is named after one of 12 animals. Chinese New Year is on the 31st January and 2014 is the year of the Horse and last year it was the year of the Snake. There are lots of different stories about how each year came to be named after the animals, but the most common is the story of a great race across a river that took place many, many years ago, after the animals argued over who was the best.

As the 12 animals assembled on the riverbank it was clear that the ox was by far the strongest swimmer. Knowing this the cunning rat climbed onto his back and rested for the whole race. Just as the ox was about to win the rat jumped off, onto the riverbank, and claimed victory.

The years were then named after all the animals according to where they finished in the race. The order is:

1. Rat 2. Ox 3. Tiger 4. Rabbit 5. Dragon
6. Snake
7. Horse 8. Sheep
9. Monkey 10. Rooster
11. Dog
12. Pig

Like Western horoscopes, Chinese horoscopes says you will have certain traits depending on when you were born, but instead of the signs changing every month, the Chinese horoscope animal signs change once a year.

Read on to find out how true the Chinese horoscope predictions are for you and get some love and sex advice too!